Here's what we think

Rosh Hashanah treats

I made two types of challah and some inside out candy apples.

The first challah was Smitten Kitchen’s honey apple challah. It didn’t rise as much as I like so next time I’ll either use more yeast or proof longer before adding it to the flour mixture. Also, the apple pieces did NOT want to stay in the dough. Very annoying! Overall, the honey taste was too subtle for me. The braiding was also less pretty than I hoped.

image

The second challah I made, a pair of round traditional ones- recipe I used, were awesome. It was perfect. The shape started out as a traditional round Rosh Hashanah shape but after baking looked more like a beehive, which was kind of cool since Rosh Hashanah is so honey-oriented.
image

I also made some inside out candy apples http://domesticfits.com/2011/10/12/inside-out-caramel-apples/ using caramel candies and corn syrup but I think I may need to add more corn syrup next time because the caramel was too hard.
image

Leave a Reply

