Here's what we think

Baking experiments

I tried baking three types of breakfast cookies because I’m trying to find a food that is chewy like a brownie but also healthy and fits into my diet.  We also had a lot of bananas that needed to be eaten or made into something so I tried 4 recipes tonight.

  1. Peanut Butter Banana Oat Breakfast Cookies– I added 2Tb brewer’s yeast (for breastfeeding boost) and 2Tb chia seeds instead of using protein powder because I don’t have that (didn’t want to spend $10-25 on it either)
  2. Banana Oatmeal Cookies– I added 4oz dried tart cherries and brewer’s yeast (for breastfeeding boost)
  3. Lifehacker’s breakfast cookies
  4. Low Fat Banana Nut Bread

I baked everything at 350°F using the convection setting on my oven.  A regular oven would work but I like how the convection oven makes things more even.  I did partially over bake my #1 cookies because I lost track and so those are a little browner than I would have liked.

Pictures along the way:

WWIE’s Peanut Butter Banana Oat Breakfast Cookies

AS Banana Oatmeal Cookie

Lifehacker’s cookie

Skinny Tastes’ banana bread- this is the cupcake form

Verdict: The banana bread was my favorite.  I made some in a cupcake tin (silicone cupcake container) and baked them 20 minutes versus the 2 loaves’ 50 minutes.  I’ll definitely be doing this again.  The lifehacker and authenticsimplicity cookies were my least favorite but probably the least caloric.  My biggest complaint with them is that they really were the least cookie-like and the instructions were BAD.  I learned that these banana based cookies HAVE to be pressed down before baking.  I am used to cookies spreading out as they bake but I didn’t really think about how that probably happens because of the sugar and butter melting.  Once I read the WWIE cookie (#1) which I unfortunately baked last, I realized the mistake.  The author of this recipe did a great job describing and documenting the process.

I will be freezing the #2 and #3 cookies for later and will enjoy the favorite ones first.

Leave a Reply

