Here's what we think

Two things occurred to me this morning. #1 is about food and #2 is about politics

Topic 1: I was always the skinny one in my family.  I was lucky to never have to worry about what I ate growing up and I graduated high school at the lightweight 107lbs, size 5/7 in juniors.  I always had long legs and big hips so I was really never a proportional 107lbs.  I looked like an awkward ostrich (at least in my mind) but now I would kill to be even close to that weight.  After HS I gained the expected 15ish lbs my freshman yr.  Still, at 5’3″, that was a great weight.  I went through late puberty apparently because my boobs grew from 34B to 34C/D in a few yrs.  Before I knew it, I weighed 150lbs.  Still, just a little overweight depending on who you talk to.  I hit ~26yo and it just seems like I am constantly hungry.  I had to practically starve myself using MediWeightloss (not fun my friends) from 165 to 145 for my wedding.  I was a size 8/10.  That’s not skinny but I could live with it.  I gained 5lbs in the 6months after our wedding and then got pregnant.  Like my mom, I gained 50lbs (!!!!) while pregnant.  I’m now down to 175lbs 21months out.  It’s so frustrating.  I hate the way I look and the first and last thing I think about every day is food and how I’m going to avoid it because I’m so fat.

Not exactly the body positive attitude I want to pass onto my daughter.

I have hypermobile joints so exercising is a struggle to keep from dislocating while I move my big self.  I’ve been able to do water strength and cardio classes but I’m not seeing results yet.  I’ve recently seen a dietician and we’re working on methods to deal with a 1600 calorie/day diet.  When you think about it, that’s not a lot of food.  😦

So, I was driving to my chiropractor this morning and it occurred to me that food and diet is like a budget.  You get a certain amount of calories as an allowance and you can spend it any way you want.  You can spend it on one expensive Gucci sundae or on a lot of dollar store zucchini.  If you want more allowance, you have to get a job (exercise).  I don’t know why but this makes me feel less angry.  I’m unlucky in metabolism but it could be worse.  My sisters have always been overweight.  At least I got a few carefree years in there.  Just like how some people are born with a silver spoon, some people have an easy upkeep body.  This is a hard lesson.

Topic 2: I was listening to NPR and there was a story about independent voters (hear it here). This story talked about how most voters who self identify as independent are actually either democrats or republicans.  It got me thinking.  I am a registered democrat but consider myself an independent.  Most of my friends think I’m a typical hippy democrat because I have certain lifestyles (extended breastfeeding, babywearing, healthy eating, cloth diapers, etc.) but there are some things I disagree with the democratic party on.  I have some similar POVs to some republicans but there are a few topics I feel so strongly about that I would rate them my most important three topics.  Republicans have puritanical, head-in-your-ass POVs on those things.  Because of that, I CAN’T vote for a republican.  The latest honesty from Akin and other republicans (see here) just goes to show you.  I am happy he was honest about his POV because much like the Chic-fil-a fiasco, people around me had no idea that those POVs were actually held by people.

HELLO!!!

I live in a liberal bubble in the bible belt and I know it everyday.  NC voted to define marriage as between one man and one woman this year and also that global warming is not real.  What?!?!

I am a scientist and rational person and I just cannot have republicans in charge of me.  No way, no how.

When I took this political quiz, I sided with the green party.

…probably because I believe that people should be able to do what they want with their bodies and pot should be legal.  I say that as someone with a chronic pain issue (see my hypermobile joints).  I would love to be able to try marijuana to see if it helps my pain but no, percocet is the legal option.  Um, yay?

I voted for a third party candidate in 2000 because he really matched my ideals and unfortunately that contributed to Dubya’s win. I am afraid to do that again because in the US it’s such a two party system, I don’t think a third party or independent could win. I wish we had a coalition government.

Comments on: "Food and politics. Happy Hump Day." (2)

  1. First of all, I love you just as you are!!! Secondly, upon learning I have dangerously high triglycerides, I began the DASH diet. Buy the dash diet for weight loss book just published. It is a real way of eating, backed by scientific publication and the only diet approved by the FDA. It is recommended by physicians to lower hypertension, etc, but it has been a great and successful way of eating for me. I have lost 15 pounds in 2.5 months. The first healthy way to lose weight I have ever managed. You tailor your calories with a formula based on your particular specifics and activity level. Check it out. It is legit. Simply the way we should all eat but don’t!

    • Thanks Kate, I’ll give it a read. Congratulations on your weight loss, that’s incredible. I’m glad your high triglycerides were caught. Scary! Love you and miss you.

Leave a Reply

