Here's what we think

Listening to Miracle (written by Matisyahu, performed by The Maccabeats), thinking about how it always puts me in the mood to do something Jewish. Bake challah, go to mikveh, etc.

I have been loosely following the laws of niddah (more about that here) and people sometimes give me the feeling they really respect me for it. That’s a nice complement but one of the things I like best about the mikveh is how stress relieving it is for me.
image

image

image

We’re so lucky to have such a beautiful mikveh where we live. It was modeled after Mayyim Hayyim, a famous mikveh in Massachusetts. I fantasize about being a modern orthodox stay at home mom sometimes, totally romanticizing the life of such a lady. When it really comes down to it, I like being a scientist and get bored and irritated when I’m at home with Moxie full time. However, I think what all that means is I need to carve out my own version of what it means to be a modern Jewish scientist mommy. That’s my mission now.

Step 1: continue with mikveh
Step 2: be more consistent with Shabbat observance and try out a technology-less Shabbat (I love my tech)
Step 3: reassess, repeat

Leave a Reply

